Process Server Registration

Individual

Definition:  Those who for specific compensation make more than ten (10) process services within this state during a calendar year.  Business & Professions Code 22350-22360.

To register as a Process Server with San Diego County, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Appear in person with a valid, government issued, picture identification such as a driver's license, state identification card, or passport.  Complete registration form.  Click here for form.
  • Have resided in California for one (1) year immediately preceding the date of the filing.
  • Principal place of business or residential address must be located in San Diego County.
  • If previously convicted of a felony, please attach a certified copy of the Certificate of Rehabilitation, Expungement, or Pardon, to the Certificate of Registration.
  • Must submit fingerprints to the Department of Justice via Live-Scan provider. Click here for form. Print three (3) forms. If renewing before expiration date, Live-Scan is not necessary.
  • Submit a bond in the amount of $2,000.00. The bond must be bound to the County of San Diego, show beginning and ending dates, or show the term of the bond is two (2) years. 
  • Provide two (2) small 1 x 1 pictures (head-shot only) for identification cards. Office can provide photos for additional charge.

 

Corporations/Partnerships

Definition:  Any corporation or partnership that derives or expects to derive compensation from service of process within this state.

  • Corporate officers or general partners must sign under penalty of perjury that they have not been convicted of a felony. Click here for Corporate/Partnership form.  All officers and partners must submit fingerprints via Live-Scan.  (See above for instructions)
  • If filing as a corporation or partnership, the corporation or partnership must have been organized and existed continuously for a period of one (1) year immediately preceding the date of filing of this certificate.
  • If filing as a corporation or a partnership, all corporate officers and partners must be listed with at least two (2) officers/partners signing the registration form.  All officers and partners must submit fingerprints.

Cost

  • $100.00 Registration Fee + One (1) Identification Card
  • $7.00 Filing Fee
  • $15.00 Recording Fee
  • $3.00 Each Additional Page Beyond First Page
  • $10.00 Identification Photos - Two (2) 1x1
  • $10.00 Lost or Stolen Replacement Cards

Please file in person between 8:00am and 4:00pm at our Downtown or San Marcos office. For directions please see our office locations.
Please direct any questions to: (619) 237-0502.

GO TO TOP OF PAGE

Professional Photocopier Assistant

Individual

Definition:  Any individual who for compensation obtains or reproduces documents authorized to be produced according to California State civil and evidence codes.  A professional photocopier shall be responsible at all times for maintaining the integrity and confidentiality of information obtained under the applicable codes in the transmittal or distribution of records to the authorized persons or entities.

To register as a Professional Photocopier Assistant, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Appear in person with a valid, government issued, picture identification such as a driver's license, state identification card or passport.
  • Have not been convicted of a felony.
  • At least one person involved in the management of the service must hold a current commission from the Secretary of State as a notary public. If the notary commission is held by someone other than the registrant, written confirmation from the notary authorizing the use of their commission for this registration is required.
  • Complete the registration form.  Click here for the form.
  • Submit a bond in the amount of $5,000.00. The bond must also name the registrant as principal providing the term of the bond, two (2) years, commencement date and expiration date. The bond must be bound to the County of San Diego, show beginning and ending dates, or show the term of the bond is two (2) years.

 

Corporation/Partnership

  • Check the "Corporation/Partnership" box on the registration form. Click here for the form.
  • If registering as a corporation or a partnership, at least two (2) partners or corporate officers must be present to sign at the time of registration. Identification cards issued to partnerships/or corporations will not contain a photo.  Each employee is required to have an identification card. Please complete attached form for employees. Cards are $10.00 each. One 1 x 1 photo is needed. It can be provided by customer or can be purchased in our office.

Cost

  • $175.00 Registration Fee + One (1) Identification Card or $100.00 if also currently registered as a process server
  • $7.00 Filing Fee
  • $15.00 Recording Fee
  • $3.00 Each Additional Page Beyond First Page
  • $10.00 Identification Photos - Two (2) 1x1
  • $10.00 Lost or Stolen Replacement Cards
  • $10.00 for each additional card for employees of the registrant

 

Please file in person between 8:00am and 4:00pm at our Downtown or San Marcos office. For directions please see our office locations.
Please direct any questions to: (619) 237-0502.

GO TO TOP OF PAGE

Legal Document Assistant

Individual

Definition: Those who for compensation assist the public in filing legal papers for any self-help service for members of the public who are representing themselves in a legal matter.

To register as a Legal Document Assistant, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Appear in person with a valid, government issued, picture identification such as a driver's license, state identification or passport. 
  • Complete the "Individual" registration form.  Click here for the form.
  • If this is your first time registering, the day you register must be the effective date on the bond.
  • Submit a bond in the amount of $25,000.00 for one (1) to four (4) assistants, $50,000.00 for five (5) to nine (9) assistants and $100,000.00 for ten (10) or more assistants. The bond must also name the registrant as principal, providing the term of the bond, two (2) years, commencement date and expiration date. The bond must be bound to the County of San Diego, show beginning and ending dates, or show the term of the bond is two (2) years.
  • Provide supporting educational documentation as required in Business and Professions Code 6400, 6402, & 6408.

 

Corporation/Partnership

  • Complete the "Corporation/Partnership" registration form. Click here for the form.
  • If registering as a corporation or a partnership, at least two (2) partners or corporate officers must be present to sign at the time of registration. Only one (1) partner or officer must submit supporting educational documentation.  Identification cards issued to partnerships/or corporations will not contain a photo.  Employees must individually qualify and file separate individual registrations. Employee cards will not be issued.

 

Primary/Secondary Registration

  • An application for secondary registration shall meet all of the above requirements except that in place of filing another original bond, a copy of the bond, certified by the primary county of registration, shall be submitted. The registration shall state the county of the original registration and provide proof that the registrant has satisfied the bonding requirement. The original bond from primary registration can be filed with our cover page or a new bond is required.

 

Cost

  • $175.00 Registration Fee + One (1) Identification Card
  • $7.00 Filing Fee
  • $15.00 Recording  Fee
  • $3.00 Each Additional Page Beyond First Page
  • $10.00 Identification Photos - Two (2) 1x1
  • $10.00 Lost or Stolen Replacement Cards

 

Please file in person between 8:00am and 4:00pm at our Downtown or San Marcos office. For directions please see our office locations.
Please direct any questions to: (619) 237-0502.

GO TO TOP OF PAGE

Unlawful Detainer Assistant

Individual

Definition:  Any individual who for compensation renders assistance or advice in the prosecution or defense of an unlawful detainer claim or action, including any bankruptcy petition that may affect the unlawful detainer claim or action.

To register as an Unlawful Detainer Assistant, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Appear in person with a valid, government issued, picture identification such as a driver's license, state identification card or passport. 
  • Complete the "Individual" registration form. Click here for the form.
  • If this is your first time registering, the day you register must be the effective date on the bond.
  • Submit a bond in the amount of $25,000.00 for one (1) to four (4) assistants, $50,000.00 for five (5) to nine (9) assistants and $100,000.00 for ten (10) or more assistants. The bond must also name the registrant as principal, providing the term of the bond, two (2) years, commencement date and expiration date. The bond must be bound to the County of San Diego, show beginning and ending dates, or show the term of the bond is two (2) years.
  • Provide supporting educational documentation as required in Business and Professions Code 6400, 6402, & 6408.

 

Corporation/Partnership

  • Complete the "Corporation/Partnership" registration form. Click here for the form.
  • If registering as a corporation or a partnership, at least two (2) partners or corporate officers must be present to sign at the time of registration.  Only one (1) partner or officer must submit supporting educational documentation.  Identification cards issued to partnerships/or corporations will not contain a photo.  Employees must individually qualify and file separate individual registrations. Employee cards will not be issued.

 

Primary/Secondary Registration

  • An application for secondary registration shall meet all of the above requirements except that in place of filing another original bond, a copy of the bond, certified by the primary county of registration, shall be submitted.  The registration shall state the county of the original registration and provide proof that the registrant has satisfied the bonding requirement.  The original bond from primary registration can be filed with our cover page or a new bond is required.

 

Cost

  • $175.00 Registration Fee + One (1) Identification Card
  • $7.00 Filing Fee
  • $15.00 Recording  Fee
  • $3.00 Each Additional Page Beyond First Page
  • $10.00 Identification Photos - Two (2) 1x1
  • $10.00 Lost or Stolen Replacement Cards

 

Please file in person between 8:00am and 4:00pm at our Downtown or San Marcos office. For directions please see our office locations.
Please direct any questions to: (619) 237-0502.

GO TO TOP OF PAGE