Get e-mail updates when this information changes.
The County Recorder, upon payment of proper fees and taxes, will accept any document which is authorized or required by California law to be recorded, if the document contains required information and if it is photographically reproducible.
For your convenience, documents may be presented for recording in all of the Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk offices at the addresses listed below.
Chula Vista Branch590 3rd AveChula Vista, CA 91910
East County Office & Archives10144 Mission Gorge Rd.Santee, CA 92071
Kearny Mesa Branch9225 Clairemont Mesa BlvdSan Diego, CA 92123
San Marcos Branch141 East Carmel St.San Marcos, CA 92078
All applicable fees must be paid at the time of recording, click
When using a credit or debit card, a $2.50 surcharge will be added to the transaction.
For information on hours of business and directions to the office locations, quit this option and
Each document presented for recording MUST include or comply with the following general requirements.
If any portion of your recordable document is in a foreign language*, it must be translated into English. The translator will need to complete a
Declaration and Verification of Interpretation form for submission to the County Clerk. The County Clerk will then complete a Translation Certificate for a fee of $10.00. Both the Declaration of Interpretation and the Translation Certificate forms must be completed and attached to the document prior to recording.
The document should not contain more than the last four digits of the Social Security number, pursuant to Civil Code 1798.89. This does not apply to documents executed prior to January 1, 2010 or certified copies of the death certificate attached to the documents.
Documentary Transfer Tax is due on all taxable conveyances in excess of $100 at a rate of $.55 per $500 or fractional portion of real property value; excluding any liens or encumbrances already of record as required, per Revenue and Taxation Code 11911. It is collected at the time of recording on each deed, or instrument. A Documentary Transfer Tax Declaration must be completed and signed for all deeds. If no Documentary Transfer Tax is due, so indicate by entering "0" on the tax line and sign the declaration. Please explain the reason why no tax is due on the document or on a separate signed statement.(R&T 11932)
When transferring property to ANYONE a "Preliminary Change of Ownership Report" IS REQUIRED per the Revenue and Taxation Code 480.2, click
PRELIMINARY CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP REPORT. This document is in
Acrobat PDF format.
If a "Preliminary Change of Ownership Report" is required, but not submitted at the time of recording, please include an additional $20.00 for the Ownership Change fee. Preliminary Change of Ownership Forms are available at the customer counter or it can be mailed to you upon request by calling (619) 238-8158.
You may also mail in your documents for recording with a check,cashiers check or money order made payable to:
The San Diego County Assessor/Recorder/Clerk
P.O. Box 121750
San Diego, California 92112-1750
Your request is processed upon receipt. Please allow 2-4 weeks to receive your original recorded document back in the mail.
The office of the Recorder/County Clerk is PROHIBITED from giving ANY legal advice or to assist in document preparation. We DO NOT provide any notarial services. Various types of forms may be purchased at office supply or stationary stores.
Once you have the appropriate form, you may prepare it yourself, consult legal counsel or contact a local title company or escrow company.