Haga clic aquí para Español 


The County of San Diego Recorder's Office is the custodian of vital records in San Diego County.  If the birth or death occurred in San Diego County, the Recorder's Office can accommodate customer requests for certificate copies of these vital records (1) in person at our available office locations, (2) by mail, and (3) online. 

California Health and Safety Code Section 103526 permits only an authorized individual to receive a Certified Copy of a vital certificate, specified below per vital record type.  Those who are not authorized by law will receive a certified Informational Copy marked "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY". 

Please allow 3 weeks after the registrant's date of event to request a copy of the vital certificate.  If no vital record is found based on the information provided on the application, a "Letter of No Record" will be issued.  The Recorder's Office will retain the non-refundable fee for processing the application.  

To speak with a Vital Records staff member, contact the Recorder's Office at (619) 237-0502.  Se habla español.

For information on marriage certificates (proof of marriage), click here .

BIRTH CERTIFICATES

DEATH CERTIFICATES


 
ORDERING BIRTH CERTIFICATES – GENERAL INFO

REQUIREMENT IN PERSON BY MAIL ONLINE
1.  Complete application: Birth Certificate Application
Birth Certificate Application
Complete Online at www.vitalchek.com
2.  Provide payment:

$32.00

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Money order
  • Credit/Debit Card ($2.50 surcharge for card payment)

$32.00

  • Check
  • Money order

$32.00

+

$12.95 Handling fee

  • Credit/Debit Card
  • Additional $19.00 for expedited return delivery
3a. For Certified Copies, applicant must establish identity:
  • Must be an Authorized Individual
  • Provide valid photo identification
  • Must be an Authorized Individual
  • Authorized Individual's signature on the Sworn Statement must be notarized
  • Certificate of Acknowledgement must be completed by a Notary Public 
  • Must be an Authorized Individual
  • Pass VitalChek's online identity verification


OR

  • Authorized Individual's signature on the Sworn Statement must be notarized
  • Certificate of Acknowledgement must be completed by a Notary Public 
3b. For Informational Copies (not valid to establish identity):No requirement to be an Authorized Individual

No requirement to be an Authorized Individual

No requirement for notarized signature

No requirement to be an Authorized Individual

No additional verification required


Those who are authorized by law to receive a Certified Copy of a birth certificate are:

  • the registrant;
  • a parent or legal guardian of the registrant;
  • a party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order, or an attorney or a licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record in order to comply with the requirement of California Family Code Sections 3140 or 7603;
  • a member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business;
  • a child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant;
  • or an attorney representing the registrant or the registrant's estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute, or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant's estate.

Those who are not authorized by law will receive a certified Informational Copy marked "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY".

The Birth Certificate Application will require the following information:

  • the registrant's full name as stated on the birth certificate;
  • the mother's full MAIDEN name;
  • and the registrant's date of birth.

The fee for each copy of a birth certificate is $32.00

GO TO TOP OF PAGE



ORDERING DEATH CERTIFICATES – GENERAL INFO

REQUIREMENT IN PERSON BY MAIL ONLINE
1.  Complete application: Death Certificate Application Death Certificate ApplicationComplete Online at www.vitalchek.com
2.  Provide payment:

$24.00

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Money order
  • Credit/Debit Card ($2.50 surcharge for card payment)

$24.00

  • Check
  • Money order

$24.00

+

$12.95 Handling fee

  • Credit/Debit Card
  • Additional $19.00 for expedited return delivery
3a. For Certified Copies, applicant must establish identity:
  • Must be an Authorized Individual
  • Provide valid photo identification
  • Must be an Authorized Individual
  • Authorized Individual's signature on the Sworn Statement must be notarized
  • Certificate of Acknowledgement must be completed by a Notary Public 
  • Must be an Authorized Individual
  • Pass VitalChek's online identity verification


OR

  • Authorized Individual's signature on the Sworn Statement must be notarized
  • Certificate of Acknowledgement must be completed by a Notary Public 
3b. For Informational Copies (not valid to establish identity):No requirement to be an Authorized IndividualNo requirement to be an Authorized Individual; no requirement for notarized signatureNo requirement to be an Authorized Individual; no additional verification required

 

Those who are authorized by law to receive a Certified Copy of a death certificate are:

  • a parent or legal guardian of the registrant;
  • a party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order;
  • a member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business;
  • a child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant;
  • an attorney representing the registrant or the registrant's estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute, or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant's estate;
  • an agent or employee of a funeral establishment who acts within the course and scope of his or her employment and who orders certified copies of a death certificate on behalf of an individual described in Health and Safety Code Section 7100(a)(1) to (8);
  • or an individual described in Health and Safety Code Section 7100(a)(1) to (8).  Agent under power of attorney for health care, competent surviving spouse, surviving competent adult child, surviving competent parent, surviving competent adult sibling, surviving competent adult person respectively in the next degrees of kinship, or conservator.

Those who are not authorized by law, will receive a certified Informational Copy marked "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY".

The Death Certificate Application will require the following information:

  • the registrant's full name;
  • and the registrant's date of death.

The fee for each copy of a death certificate is $24.00

GO TO TOP OF PAGE

 

REQUESTING VITAL CERTIFICATES IN PERSON

Copies of a vital certificate may be purchased at our available office locations as long as the event occurred in the County of San Diego.  The applicant must complete the specific application, sign it in the presence of a County Clerk (the signature is not required to be notarized), and present valid photo identification.  The fee per each copy of vital certificate is payable by cash, check, money order, or credit/debit card (2.50 surcharge per transaction) and is not refundable if no record is found.  If no record is found, a "Letter of No Record" will be issued.

GO TO TOP OF PAGE

 

REQUESTING VITAL CERTIFICATES BY MAIL

Copies of a vital certificate may be ordered by mail as long as the event occurred in the County of San Diego.  The applicant must complete the specific application, provide the number of copies requested, and provide the address where the copy(ies) will be mailed.

Additionally, applicants requesting a Certified Copy must identify their relationship to the registrant and must sign the Sworn Statement declaring, under penalty of perjury, that they are eligible to receive the Certified Copy of the vital record.  The authorized individual's signature on the Sworn Statement must be notarized, and the Certificate of Acknowledgement must be completed by a Notary Public.  Informational Copy of a vital certificate do not require notarized signatures but will be marked "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY".

The fee per each copy of a vital certificate ($32.00 for birth, $24.00 for death) is payable by check or money order to the "San Diego Recorder/County Clerk" and is not refundable if no record is found.  If no record is found, a "Letter of No Record" will be issued.

Send completed application(s) and payment(s) to:

San Diego Recorder/County Clerk
ATTN: Vital Records
P.O. Box 121750
San Diego, CA 92112-1750

The certificate(s) will be mailed to you according to our mail processing times.

GO TO TOP OF PAGE

 

REQUESTING VITAL CERTIFICATES ONLINE

The Recorder's Office does not accept online orders; however, for customer convenience, online requests may be submitted through an independent company partnered with the Recorder's Office to provide the service to the public.

VitalChek Network Inc. is a private company that provides a secure Internet site that allows the public to conveniently order vital record certificates 24 hours a day.  Orders may be placed through VitalChek's website www.vitalchek.com by fax through (866) 233-1057; and by phone through the toll-free phone number (877) 459-1061, Monday through Friday during regular business hours.

PLEASE NOTE: Ensure to select "San Diego County Recorder" as the government agency when placing an order through VitalChek.  All applicants requesting certified copies must pass VitalChek's online identity verification for the order to be processed.  Any applicant who fails or opts out of the online identity verification will be required to submit a Sworn Statement and notarized Certificate of Acknowledgment for the order to be processed.  Please be sure to follow the instructions on VitalChek's website.

In addition to the cost of the certificates, VitalChek charges a handling fee of $12.95 for all orders.  Expedited return delivery is an available option for an additional fee of $19.00; otherwise, the certificate(s) will be returned via regular mail.

Copies of vital certificates may be obtained from the Recorder's Office in person or by mail without any additional processing or shipping fees for regular mailing.

GO TO TOP OF PAGE