
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
California State Law, Health and Safety Code, Section 103526, permits only authorized persons as defined below to receive certified 
copies of death records.  Those who are not authorized by law to receive a certified copy will receive a certified copy marked 
“INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY.”  Please indicate below whether you would 
like a Certified Copy or a certified Informational Copy.  Please wait 3 weeks from the date of event before submitting your request. 
 

 
 I would like a Certified Copy of the record identified on the 

application form.  (In order to receive a Certified Copy, you 
must indicate your relationship to the person named on the 
application form by selecting from the list below.) 

 
 I would like a certified Informational Copy of the record 

identified on the application form.  (You are not required 
to select from the list below or complete the statement of 
identity in order to receive an Informational Copy.) 

 
I am: 

 
 

 
 The parent or legal guardian of the registrant (person named on certificate). 
 A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order. 
 A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, 

who is conducting official business. 
 A child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant. 
 An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant’s estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or 

appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant’s estate. 
 Any funeral director who orders certified copies of a death certificate on behalf of any individual specified in 

paragraphs (1) to (5), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section 7100. 
 

DEATH INFORMATION (PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE) - $16.00 for each certified copy 
Name of Decedent – First Name  Middle Name Last Name 

Date of Death County of Death No. of Copies 

DEATH INFORMATION (PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE) - $16.00 for each certified copy 
Name of Decedent – First Name  Middle Name Last Name 

Date of Death County of Death No. of Copies 

DEATH INFORMATION (PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE) - $16.00 for each certified copy 
Name of Decedent – First Name  Middle Name Last Name 

Date of Death County of Death No. of Copies 

DEATH INFORMATION (PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE) - $16.00 for each certified copy 
Name of Decedent – First Name  Middle Name Last Name 

Date of Death County of Death No. of Copies 

 
Note:  The Statement of Identity must accompany this request in our office before a certificate can be issued. 
 
 
Requestor’s Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                                                                  PLEASE PRINT 
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COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO 
ERNEST J. DRONENBURG, JR. 
ASSESSOR/RECORDER/COUNTY CLERK 

 
APPLICATION FOR DEATH CERTIFICATE BY MAIL 

$16.00 FEE FOR DEATH CERTIFICATE OR LETTER OF NO RECORD 
NON-REFUNDABLE 



 
STATEMENT OF IDENTITY 

 
I, _____________________________________________, swear under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of  

                                                                (Print Name) 
California, that I am an authorized person, as defined in California Health and Safety Code Section 103526(c), and am eligible to 
receive a certified copy of the birth or death record of the following individual(s): 
 

Name of Person Listed on Certificate Type No. of Copies Relationship to Person Listed on 
Certificate 

 
 Birth   Death 

  

 
 Birth   Death 

  

 
 Birth   Death 

  

 
 Birth   Death 

  

 
 Sworn this _______ day of ____________, 20______, at_________________________________, _______________. 
                                      (Day)                       (Month)                                                             (City)                                              (State) 
 

_______________________________________________________ 
                           (Signature) 
 
Note:  If submitting your order by mail and requesting a Certified Copy, you must have your sworn statement notarized using the 
Certificate of Acknowledgement below.  The notary is only verifying the identity of the person requesting the copy not the relationship 
to the registrant. 

 
Only one notarization is required even though the requester may have a different authorized relationship to each record being 
requested, (i.e. Mother on one request, Registrant on another request, etc.). 

 
CERTIFICATE OF ACKNOWLEDGMENT 

 
State of _____________________________________County of _____________________________________________________ 

On __________________________, before me, __________________________________________________________________, 
                (Insert name and title of the officer) 

personally appeared _____________________________________________who proved to me on the basis of satisfactory evidence to 
be the person(s) whose name(s) is/are subscribed to the within instrument and acknowledged to me that he/she/they executed the same 
in his/her/their authorized capacity(ies), and that by his/her/their signature(s) on the instrument the person(s), or the entity upon behalf 
of which the person(s) acted, executed the instrument.  I certify under PENALTY OF PERJURY under the laws of the State of 
California that the foregoing paragraph is true and correct. 
 

          WITNESS my hand and official seal. 

   

        

______________________________________________________ 
                              NOTARY SIGNATURE    

Mail Certificate to: 

Name _______________________________________________ 

Address _____________________________________________ 

City, State, Zip  _______________________________________ 

Email _______________________________________________ 

Phone (______) _______________________________________ 

Number of Birth _____________ x $23.00 = ________________ 

Number of Death ____________  x $16.00 = ________________ 

                                                      TOTAL   = ________________ 

Please mail this request along with your payment (check or money 
order payable to SD County Recorder) to: 

 
San Diego Recorder/County Clerk 

Attn:  Vital Records 
P.O. Box 121750 

San Diego, Ca 92112-1750 
 
 
 

Vitals Form #V3B/4B (11/01/12) 2 of 2     

     Personally Known OR       Produced Identification.  
Type of Identification produced _________________________ 
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