BOE-261-G (P1) REV. 22 (05-13) ERNEST J. DRONENBURG JR., ASSESSOR

, 1600 PACIFIC HWY., SUITE 103
2014 CLAIM FOR DISABLED VETERANS SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION TELEPHONE: (619) 531-5773

Filing deadlines vary depending upon the event which a claimant is filing.
Please see instructions on page 3 for filing deadlines.

CLAIMANT NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS FOR ASSESSOR'S USE ONLY
(Make necessary corrections to the printed name and mailing address)
r A DATE RECEIVED
APPROVED [ | DENIED [ |
REASON FOR DENIAL
L 2
ASSESSOR’S PARCEL NUMBER
CLAIMANT’S NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
SPOUSE’S NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
STREET ADDRESS OF DWELLING (IF DIFFERENT FROM MAILING ADDRESS) CITY ZIP CODE

IF THE CLAIMANT IS AN UNMARRIED SURVIVING SPOUSE, ENTER THE NAME OF THE VETERAN AS SHOWN ON THE DISCHARGE DOCUMENTS | SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

Article XIII of the California Constitution, section 4(a), and Revenue and Taxation Code section 205.5 provide
an exemption for property which constitutes the home of a veteran, or the home of the unmarried surviving
spouse of a veteran, who, because of injury or disease incurred in military service, is blind in both eyes, has lost
the use of two or more limbs, or is totally disabled. There are two exemption levels - a basic exemption and one
for low-income household claimants, both of which are adjusted annually for inflation*. The exemption does not
apply to direct levies or special taxes. Once granted, the Basic Exemption remains in effect without annual filing
until terminated. Annual filing is required for any year in which a Low-Income Exemption is claimed. Please
refer to the attached schedule for the current amount and household income limits.

Totally disabled means that the United States Veterans Administration or the military service from which
discharged has rated the disability at 100 percent or has rated the disability compensation at 100 percent by
reason of being unable to secure or follow a substantially gainful occupation.

The Disabled Veterans’ Property Tax Exemption is also available to the unmarried surviving spouse of a
veteran who, as a result of service-connected injury or disease: 1) died either while on active duty in the
military service or after being honorably discharged and 2) served either in time of war or in time of peace in a
campaign or expedition for which a medal has been issued by Congress. This law provides that the Veterans
Administration shall determine whether an injury or disease is service-connected.

The Disabled Veterans’ Property Tax Exemption provides for the cancellation or refund of taxes paid 1) when
property becomes eligible after the lien date (new acquisition or occupancy of a previously owned property) or
2) upon a veteran’s disability rating or death. This further provides for the termination of the exemption on the
date of sale or transfer of a property to a third party who is not eligible for the exemption or on the date a
person previously eligible for the exemption becomes ineligible.

* As provided by Revenue and Taxation Code section 205.5, the exemption amount and the household income
limit shall be compounded annually by an inflation factor tied to the California Consumer Price Index.

THIS DOCUMENT IS NOT SUBJECT TO PUBLIC INSPECTION
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STATEMENTS

This claim form may be used to file for the Disabled Veterans’ Exemption for the regular assessment roll and the supplemental assessment roll.
Separate claims are required for each fiscal year when filing the Low-Income Exemption. Please carefully read the information and instructions
before answering the questions listed below. If you received the Disabled Veterans’ Exemption last year and are filing this form solely to claim the
Low-Income Exemption, check here [_| and proceed directly to item 4.

1.

a. When did you acquire this property?

(month/day/year)
b. Date you occupied or intend to occupy this property as your principal residence:

(month/day/year)

¢. Have you claimed the Disabled Veterans’ Exemption on your previous residence? Llves [INo
If yes, see Question 1d below.

d. Has that home been sold or transferred? [ ] Yes [] No What is the address of that home, including the city and county where the
home is located?

Address:

City: County:

a. Effective date of disability rating from the USDVA*?

b. Date received disability rating from the USDVA*?
*United States Department of Veterans Affairs

The basis for this claim is (please check the appropriate boxes):

a. [] Blind in both eyes (blind means having a visual acuity of 5/200 or less, or concentric contraction of the visual field to 5 degrees or less;
proof is attached);

b. [] Disabled because of loss of use of 2 or more limbs (loss of the use of a limb means that the limb has been amputated, or its use has
been lost by reason of ankylosis, progressive muscular dystrophies, or paralysis; proof is attached);

c. [] Totally disabled as a result of a service-connected [ ] injury or [] disease (totally disabled means that the United States Veterans
Administration or the military service from which discharged has rated the disability at 100 percent or has rated the disability
compensation at 100 percent by reason of being unable to secure or follow a substantially gainful occupation; proof is attached);

d. [J Unmarried surviving spouse of a deceased veteran who during his or her lifetime qualified for this exemption or who would have qualified
for this exemption under the laws effective on January 1, 1977 (January 1, 1979, for disease) except that the veteran died prior to
January 1, 1977 (January 1, 1979, for disease). Disability: [ ] blindness; loss of use of two or more limbs; ] total disability because
of injury; or [] total disability because of disease (check applicable box; proof of disability, copy of marriage license, and copy of death
certificate must be submitted to the Assessor).

My spouse died on:

(month/day/year)

e. [] Unmarried surviving spouse of a person who, as a result of service-connected injury or disease, died while on active duty in the military
service or after being honorably discharged (copy of marriage license, proof that the cause of death was service-connected, dates of
service, and copy of death certificate or report of casualty must be submitted to the Assessor).

My spouse died on:

(month/day/year)
To be completed only by claimants for the Low-Income Exemption:

My yearly household income (see the instructions) for the prior calendar year was $ . If the amount entered does not
exceed the indexed low-income limit for the year you are claiming, the Low-Income Exemption shall apply. If you enter an amount greater than
the limit, or you do not enter an amount, the Assessor will only allow the Basic Exemption. See attached schedule for income limits.

Telephone No. (8 a.m. - 5 p.m.) ( ) Email:

CERTIFICATION

| certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing and all information hereon,
including any accompanying statements or documents, is true, correct and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.

SIGNATURE OF PERSON MAKING CLAIM DATE
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SCHEDULE FOR DISABLED VETERANS' EXEMPTION

EXEMPTION AMOUNTS AND HOUSEHOLD INCOME LIMITS

Lien Date Basic Exemption Low-Income Exemption Low-Income household Limit
2014 $124,932 $187,399 $56,101
2013 $122,128 $183,193 $54,842
2012 $119,285 $178,929 $53,566
2011 $116,845 $175,269 $52,470
2010 $115,060 $172,592 $51,669
2009 $114,634 $171,952 $51,478
2008 $111,296 $166,944 $49,979
2007 $107,613 $161,420 $48,325
2006 $103,107 $154,661 $46,302
2005 $100,000 $150,000 $44,907
2004 $100,000 $150,000 $44,302
2003 $100,000 $150,000 $42,814
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