If I receive a Disabled Veteran’s
Exemption, may I also apply for a
Homeowners’ Exemption?

No. The Disabled Veteran’s Exemption
results in a substantially higher savings
than a Homeowners’ Exemption.

If I own more than one residence, may
I receive a Homeowners’ Exemption for
each property?

No. California State law permits only one
Homeowners’ Exemption per resident.

Why must I submit my Social Security
number when applying for the
Homeowners’ Exemption?

State law requires Social Security numbers
in order to ensure that homeowners receive
only one exemption. The Individual
Taxpayer Identification Number can be
used in place of a social security number if
a claimant does not have a social security
number.

Online Forms, Services, and Information

Please visit our website at www.sdarcc.com
for a description of online services, forms,
and answers to frequently asked questions
about the programs that the Assessor/
Recorder/County Clerk administers. Many
of the forms found on our site can be filled
out prior to printing, and some can be
submitted online.
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INFORMATION
1600 Pacific Highway, Suite 103
San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 531-5772
arcchox.fgg@sdcounty.ca.gov

Branch Office Locations to Serve You:

CHULA VISTA SANTEE
590 Third Avenue 10144 Mission Gorge Road
Chula Vista, CA 91910 Santee, CA 92071

KEARNY MESA
9225 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92123

SAN MARCOS
141 E. Carmel Street
San Marcos, CA 92078

OFFICE HOURS
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday
(All Locations)

You can now apply online at
www.sdarcc.com



What is the Homeowners’ Property Tax
Exemption?

The Homeowners’ Exemption provides for
a reduction of $7,000 off the assessed value
of your residence. This results in an annual
property tax savings of approximately $70.

Who qualifies for this program?

Property owners who occupy their homes
as their principal place of residence on
January 1, and each year thereafter, are
eligible for the exemption.

How do I file for a Homeowners’
Exemption?

Whenever there is a purchase or transfer
of residential property, the Assessor’s
Office automatically mails a Homeowner’s
Exemption claim form. You may also file
online or download the application from
our website at www.sdarcc.com or request
that one be mailed to you by calling our
office at (619) 531-5772.

Is there a fee for filing a Homeowners’
Exemption application with  the
Assessor’s Office?

No. This is a free service provided by the
Assessor’s Office.

How can I determine if I am already
receiving the Homeowners’ Exemption?

To wverify that you are receiving your
Homeowners’ Exemption, review your latest
property tax bill. The exemption is shown
in the upper right section of your tax bill.

When is the filing deadline for the
Homeowners’ Exemption?

The regular filing deadline is February 15
to receive the full exemption of $70. Late
filing is from February 16 to December
10 to receive 80% of the exemption ($56).
Late-filed exemptions will receive the full
$70 exemption after the first year.

If T miss the Homeowners’ Exemption
deadline, is there any provision for
granting the exemption for prior years?

No. According to California State law,
Homeowners’ Exemptions cannot be
granted for prior years.

Do I need to file each year for the
Homeowners’ Exemption program?

No. Once you have filed and been granted
the Homeowners’ Exemption and you
continue to own and occupy the same
residence, you will automatically receive
the exemption in future years.

If T own a manufactured home, do I
qualify for a Homeowners’ Exemption?

If you pay property taxes on your
manufactured home and it does not have
State license tags, you may be eligible for
the Homeowners’ Exemption. For more
information, please call the Assessor’s
Office at (619) 531-5772.



