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 DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONER FOR A DAY 

INFORMATION PACKET & APPLICATION BY MAIL 
Couples with a valid marriage license can make their special day even more memorable by choosing a 
friend or relative to be deputized to perform their wedding ceremony at their chosen venue.  The San 
Diego County Deputy Marriage Commissioner for a Day program is a unique and beautiful way for a 
couple to celebrate their wedding day.  Applications for an appointment as a Deputy Marriage 
Commissioner for a Day should be submitted at least one month before the ceremony date. 

Requirements for Deputy Marriage Commissioner Appointment: 
 

1. Confirm with your couple what type of marriage license that they will/or have already 
purchased and where the ceremony is to take place. 

2.   The ceremony may take place anywhere in California.
3. If you wish to be appointed as a Deputy Marriage Commissioner to perform a civil wedding 

ceremony for a friend or family member, you may appear in person with the completed 
application form and provide valid government issued photo identification to be sworn in. 

4. If you cannot appear in person to be sworn in, you must submit the required notarized 
application by mail at least 1 month in advance to receive the commission and instructions on 
time for the ceremony. 

5. You must be at least 18 years of age. (California Family Code 400) 
6. Cost is $80.00 payable by check or money order.   
7.    The marriage license must be purchased by the couple before the ceremony can take place.  
 
Procedure for By-Mail application: 

 
1. Please review all pages.  Complete all fields on page 2. 
2. Go to a notary public to have your signature on the page 3 form titled Oath or Affirmation 

notarized and the Acknowledgement completed. 
3. Mail pages 2 and 3  back to us with a check or money order made payable to: 

San Diego County Clerk 
PO BOX 121750 
San Diego, CA  92112-1750 

4. The application will be reviewed and a packet will be sent to you with instructions and wedding 
vows included.  Upon receipt of the packet, please review to assure that the marriage will be 
performed legally and that the license is returned to the County Clerk within 10 days after the 
ceremony for recording in a timely manner. 

5. If you have any further questions, please contact the San Diego County Clerk’s Office at (619) 
237-0502 for assistance. 
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DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONER FOR A DAY 

APPLICATION BY MAIL 

 
 

Please print or type clearly 
 
I hereby request appointment as a Deputy Marriage Commissioner for the following wedding: 

� I am at least 18 years of age. 
� I have not been convicted of a felony.     
� I have been convicted of a felony (if marked, please explain on back of this form). 

 
Title:  Mr., Mrs., Miss, Ms (circle one) 
 
Applicant:____________________________,_________________________,______________________ 
                                                          Last                                                                                First                                                        Middle  
 
Address: _____________________________________________________________________________ 
                  Street                                                                                       City                                                             State                        Zip           
 
Daytime phone #:__________________________E-mail address:________________________________ 
 
Date of Marriage: _________________Location:_____________________________County:__________ 
 
Name of first person: ____________________________________  Daytime Phone #:_______________ 
 
Name of second person: __________________________________ Daytime Phone #:_______________  
 
Please read carefully 

 
I have read and received the above instructions and acknowledge that my powers as a deputy are 
expressly limited.  By accepting this appointment I am subject to any applicable laws during the tenure 
of this appointment.  No employment relationship is created by virtue of this appointment as a deputy 
commissioner of civil marriages to solemnize a marriage in California.  Any injuries incurred during the 
private performance of marriage ceremonies will not be eligible for coverage under the County’s 
worker’s compensation program.  I also understand that my performance of marriage ceremonies 
outside the County Clerk’s Office is not a county activity and I, alone, will be responsible for any injuries I 
might cause to third parties and agree to indemnify and defend San Diego County and its County Clerk 
against any claims for injuries caused, or alleged to have been caused by my performance of the 
marriage ceremony. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true 
and correct. 
 
________________________________________________     ___________________________________ 
Applicant’s Signature                                                                  Date 
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DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONER FOR A DAY 

OATH OR AFFIRMATION 

 

 

I__________________________, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the 
                  (Print or type name) 
Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California against all enemies, foreign and 
domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the 
State of California; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I 
will well and faithfully discharge the duties upon which I am about to enter. 
 
Signature of Applicant_____________________________________________Date__________________________ 
 
 

Note: Your signature MUST be notarized if applying by mail. Notarization is NOT required if applying in person. 
 

 

CERTIFICATE OF ACKNOWLEDGMENT 

 
State of _______________________________ County of ________________________________________________________ 
 
On _______________________________ before me, ___________________________________________________________, 
       (Insert name and title of the officer) 
 
Personally appeared _____________________________________ who proved to me on the basis of satisfactory evidence to be 
the person(s) whose name(s) is/are subscribed to the within instrument and acknowledged to me that he/she/they executed 
the same in his/her/their authorized capacity(ies), and that by his/her/their signature(s) on the instrument the person(s), or the 
entity upon behalf of which the person(s) acted, executed, the instrument.  I certify under PENALTY OF PERJURY under the laws 
of the State of California that the foregoing paragraph is true and correct. 
 

    
                                                                                                        WITNESS my hand and official seal. 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
____________________________________________________   

                                Notary Signature   

     Personally Known OR          Produced Identification.  

Type of Identification produced _________________________ 

A notary public or other officer completing this certificate verifies only the identity of the individual who signed the document to 
which this certificate is attached, and not to the truthfulness, accuracy, or the validity of that document. 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE CEREMONY AND COMPLETION OF THE MARRIAGE LICENSE 

 
 

A Deputy Commissioner of Civil Marriages may solemnize one marriage under the direction of the Commissioner of Civil 
Marriages and under ALL of the following conditions and limitations. Please read these instructions before performing the 
ceremony. 

� The marriage may only be solemnized on the dates specified on the face of the appointment and Oath of Office form. 
The parties to the marriage must present a marriage license to the deputy prior to the ceremony as stated in Family Code 
421. Solemnizing a marriage without first being presented with a marriage license, willfully making a false return of any 
marriage license or pretend marriage license to the county clerk is guilty of a misdemeanor under Penal Code Section 
360.   

� DO NOT use whiteout, correction fluid, or make ANY changes or corrections if a mistake has been made.  The license 
CANNOT be recorded if altered in any way. If there is a mistake, please notify the County Clerk when returning the 
license.  A duplicate license must be issued for an additional fee of $10. 

� Using DARK INK ONLY, the deputy must fill in the following on the license: the date and place of the 
solemnization (ceremony), his/her signature and printed name, title, and address. 

� Since this is a civil commission, there is no religious denomination, therefore enter one dash mark – in the field 
requesting religious denomination. The title should be printed in as Deputy Marriage Commissioner. 

� The deputy MUST have at least one witness sign, but NO MORE than two, using dark ink on a “Non-Confidential 
Marriage License”.  Witnesses are not required for a “Confidential Marriage License”. 

� No particular form for the ceremony of marriage is required, but the parties must declare, in the presence of the deputy, 
that they take each other as spouses. The San Diego County Clerk will provide a sample of the civil marriage ceremony. 

� When completed, the deputy MUST return the marriage license within 10 days of the ceremony for recording to the 
County Clerk.  Failure to return a license for recording is a misdemeanor pursuant to Health and Safety Code 103785. 

� The deputy shall not receive any money or anything of value for performing a marriage ceremony. 
 
California Family Code 421  
Before solemnizing a marriage, the person solemnizing the marriage shall require the presentation of the marriage license.  If the 
person solemnizing the marriage has reason to doubt the correctness of the statement of facts in the marriage license, the person 
must be satisfied as to the correctness of the statement of facts before solemnizing the marriage. For this purpose, the person 
may administer oaths and examine the parties and witnesses in the same manner as the county clerk does before issuing the 
license. 
 
California Health and Safety Code 103785   
Every person who is required to fill out a certificate of birth, fetal death, death, or marriage license and register it with the local 
registrar, or deliver it, upon request, to any person charged with the duty of registering it, and who fails, neglects, or refuses to 
perform that duty in the manner required by this part is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 
California Penal Code 360  
Every person authorized to solemnize any marriage, who solemnizes a marriage without first being presented with the marriage 
license, as required by Section 421 of the Family Code ; or who solemnizes a marriage pursuant to Part 4 (commencing with 
Section 500) of Division 3 of the Family Code without the authorization required by that part; or who willfully makes a false return 
of any marriage or pretended marriage to the recorder or clerk and every person who willfully makes a false record of any 
marriage return, is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 

 

CC402 (01/01/2015)   Page 4 of 4 


	Note: Your signature MUST be notarized if applying by mail. Notarization is NOT required if applying in person.
	CERTIFICATE OF ACKNOWLEDGMENT
	Untitled

	Applicant: 
	undefined: 
	undefined_2: 
	Address: 
	Daytime phone: 
	Email address: 
	Date of Marriage: 
	Location: 
	County: 
	Name of first person: 
	Daytime Phone: 
	Name of second person: 
	Daytime Phone_2: 
	I: 
	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box2: Off
	Check Box3: Off


