COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO

Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr.
San Diego Recorder/County Clerk
PO Box 121750, San Diego, CA 92112-1750
(619) 237-0502 WG Couts”

www.sdarcc.com

DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONER FOR A DAY
INFORMATION PACKET & APPLICATION IN PERSON

Couples with a valid marriage license can make their special day even more
memorable by choosing a friend or relative to be deputized to perform their
wedding ceremony at their chosen venue. The San Diego County Deputy Marriage
Commissioner for a Day program is a unique and beautiful way for a couple to
celebrate their wedding day. Applications for an appointment as a Deputy Marriage
Commissioner for a Day should be submitted at least one month before the
ceremony date.

Requirements for Deputy Marriage Commissioner Appointment:

1.

2.

3.
4.

5.

Confirm with your couple that they will/or have already purchased their marriage

license and that their ceremony will take place in California.

You will be required to provide government issued identification when being sworn in at the
office.

You must be at least 18 years of age. (California Family Code 400)

Cost is $80.00 payable with cash, check, or money order. Debit or credit payments are also
accepted for an additional $2.50 convenience fee.

The marriage license must be purchased by the couple before the ceremony can take place.

Procedure for Applying In Person:

1.
2.

3.

vk

Please review page 2 and complete application on page 3.

It is suggested that the applicant go at least one month in advance to any of our five offices,
located in San Marcos, Santee, Kearny Mesa, Chula Vista or downtown San Diego.

When you are called to the clerk deputy’s desk, they will review the application, swear you
in, and issue your receipt.

This commission is only valid for the couple named on the application and for the date listed.
Once your application is processed a packet will be mailed with your commission certificate,
instructions on how to complete the marriage license, and a sample of the wedding vows.
Please return the completed marriage license to the County Clerk within 10 days after the
ceremony for recording in a timely manner.

If you have any further questions, please contact the San Diego County Clerk’s Office at (619)
237-0502 or email ARCCSDMarriageHelp.FGG@sdcounty.ca.gov for assistance.
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COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO
Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr.

San Diego Recorder/County Clerk
PO Box 121750, San Diego, CA
92112-1750
(619) 237-0502

www.sdarcc.com

INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE CEREMONY AND COMPLETION OF THE MARRIAGE LICENSE

A Deputy Commissioner of Civil Marriages may solemnize one marriage under the direction of the Commissioner
of Civil Marriages and under ALL of the following conditions and limitations. Please read these instructions before
performing the ceremony.

|:| The marriage may only be solemnized on the dates specified on the face of the appointment and Oath of

Office form. The parties to the marriage must present a marriage license to the deputy prior to the

ceremony as stated in Family Code 421. Solemnizing a marriage without first being presented with a

marriage license, willfully making a false return of any marriage license or pretend marriage license to the

county clerk is guilty of a misdemeanor under Penal Code Section 360.

DO NOT use whiteout, correction fluid, or make ANY changes or corrections if a mistake has been made.

The license CANNOT be recorded if altered in any way. If there is a mistake, please notify the County

Clerk when returning the license. A duplicate license must be issued for an additional fee of $34.00.

Using DARK (black or blue) ink, the deputy MUST fill in the following on the license: the date and place of

the solemnization (ceremony), his/her signature and printed name, title, and address.

Since this is a civil commission there is no religious denomination, therefore enter one dash mark —in the

field requesting religious denomination. The title should be printed in as Deputy Marriage Commissioner.

The deputy MUST have at least one witness sign, but NO MORE than two, on a “Non-Confidential

Marriage License”. Witnesses are not required for a “Confidential Marriage License”.

No specific vows are required for the ceremony, but the parties must declare, in the presence

of the deputy, that they take each other as spouses. The San Diego County Clerk has provided a sample

of the civil marriage ceremony vows.

I:I When completed, the deputy MUST return the marriage license within 10 days of the ceremony for
recording to the County Clerk. Failure to return a license for recording is a misdemeanor pursuant to
Health and Safety Code 103785.

|:| The deputy shall not receive any money or anything of value for performing a marriage ceremony.

Odoo O

California Family Code 421

Before solemnizing a marriage, the person solemnizing the marriage shall require the presentation of the marriage
license. If the person solemnizing the marriage has reason to doubt the correctness of the statement of facts in the
marriage license, the person must be satisfied as to the correctness of the statement of facts before solemnizing
the marriage. For this purpose, the person may administer oaths and examine the parties and witnesses in the
same manner as the county clerk does before issuing the license.

California Health and Safety Code 103785

Every person who is required to fill out a certificate of birth, fetal death, or death, or marriage license and register
it with the local registrar, or deliver it, upon request, to any person charged with the duty of registering it, and who
fails, neglects, or refuses to perform that duty in the manner required by this part is guilty of a misdemeanor.

California Penal Code 360

Every person authorized to solemnize any marriage, who solemnizes a marriage without first being presented with
the marriage license, as required by Section 421 of the Family Code; or who solemnizes a marriage pursuant to
Part 4 (commencing with Section 500) of Division 3 of the Family Code without the authorization required by that
part; or who willfully makes a false return of any marriage or pretended marriage to the recorder or clerk and
every person who willfully makes a false record of any marriage return, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
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COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO
Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr.
San Diego Recorder/County Clerk
PO Box 121750, San Diego, CA 92112-1750
(619) 237-0502
www.sdarcc.com

DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONER FOR A DAY
APPLICATION IN PERSON
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Please print or type clearly

| hereby request appointment as a Deputy Marriage Commissioner for the following wedding:

| am at least 18 years of age.

| have not been convicted of a felony.

| have been convicted of a felony (if marked, please attach explanation).

Title: Mr., Mrs., Miss, Ms (circle one)

Applicant:
First Name Middle Name Last Name
Address:
Street City State Zip
Daytime phone #: E-mail address:
Date of Marriage: Location: County:
Name of first person: Daytime Phone #:
Name of second person: Daytime Phone #:

Please read carefully

| have read and received the above instructions and acknowledge that my powers as a deputy are
expressly limited. By accepting this appointment | am subject to any applicable laws during the tenure
of this appointment. No employment relationship is created by virtue of this appointment as a deputy
commissioner of civil marriages to solemnize a marriage in California. Any injuries incurred during the
private performance of marriage ceremonies will not be eligible for coverage under the County’s
worker’s compensation program. | also understand that my performance of marriage ceremonies
outside the County Clerk’s Office is not a county activity and |, alone, will be responsible for any injuries
I might cause to third parties and agree to indemnify and defend San Diego County and its County Clerk
against any claims for injuries caused, or alleged to have been caused by my performance of the
marriage ceremony.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true
and correct.

Applicant’s Signature Date
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COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO

Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr.
ASSESSOR/RECORDER/COUNTY CLERK

DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONER
OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE

OFFICE USE ONLY

I , do solemnly swear (or affirm) that | will support and defend the
Print or type name

Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California against all enemies, foreign and
domestic; that | will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the
State of California; that | take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that |
will well and faithfully discharge the duties upon which | am about to enter.

Signature of Applicant Date

State of California
County of San Diego

Subscribed and sworn to before me on

this day of , 20

BY:

(Signature of Deputy Clerk)

CC401 (Rev. 07/2020) Page 4 of 4



	DMC_by mail.pdf
	Note: Your signature MUST be notarized if applying by mail. Notarization is NOT required if applying in person.
	CERTIFICATE OF ACKNOWLEDGMENT
	Untitled


	PRINT OR TYPE NAME: 
	day of: 
	Date2: 
	20: 
	Check Box4: Off
	Check Box5: Off
	Check Box6: Off
	Check Box7: Off
	Check Box8: Off
	Check Box9: Off
	Check Box10: Off
	Check Box11: Off
	Applicant: 
	Address: 
	Daytime phone: 
	Email address: 
	Date of Marriage: 
	Location: 
	County: 
	Name of first person: 
	Daytime Phone: 
	Name of second person: 
	Daytime Phone_2: 
	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box2: Off
	Check Box3: Off


