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Assessor Dronenburg Announces Filing Extension 
for Business Property Statements to June 1

Governor Approved Assessor Request for Small Businesses relief & filing deadline moved to 6/1 

SAN DIEGO – San Diego County Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk, Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr. announced a 
new filing deadline granted by Governor Newsom’s Executive Order to help small businesses impacted 
by the COVID-19 pandemic avoid late filing penalties. Assessor Dronenburg and Board of Equalization 
Vice Chair Schaefer, both representing San Diego County, were among many elected officials from 
across California calling on the Governor to grant this relief to business owners during the COVID-19 
pandemic

 Assessor Dronenburg said, “We are grateful Governor Newsom through an Executive Order approved 
the request to extend the filing deadline to June 1, providing California small business owners some 
relief from the state mandated Business Personal Property 10 percent late filing penalty.” Dronenburg 
continued “My office is working pro-actively to help taxpayers, and with this Executive Order we are
now able to save over 40,000 San Diego County business owners from the state mandated 10 percent 
late filing penalty they would have incurred after today.” Dronenburg concluded, “My office remains 
open and committed to providing taxpayers excellent customer service online, over the phone and 
through e-mail to ensure everyone has the tools they need to avoid the state mandate penalties by 
filing timely before the newly granted June 1 filing deadline.” 

Businesses are required to report their taxable business personal property with a combined value of 
$100,000 or if requested to do so with the Assessor’s office on an annual basis. State law requires that a 
1% tax be applied to all business property valued (in total) of $5,000 or more. The County Assessor 
Business Personal Property Division mailed approximately 64,000 statements to business, aircraft, and 
vessel owners. As of May 6th, only 23,000 statements, which account for less than 50% of the
mandated filers, had filed.

Eligible business owners are strongly encouraged to e-file their statements online by June 1 through our 
secure and convenient e-file system. Questions regarding e-filing or general assistance can receive 
support by calling (858-)505-6100 or via e-mail: ARCCBusinessE-file.FGG@sdcounty.ca.gov. 

### 
Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr. was re-elected in 2018 as the San Diego County Assessor/ Recorder/ County 
Clerk. Dronenburg has ushered in award winning services providing veteran property tax relief and 
modernized office systems leading to more online services, reducing paper waste, and eliminating a 
backlog of taxpayer assessment appeals. 
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